Communication: Challenges & Strengths (Revised)

Note: Revised is in blue text colour

Communication is no doubt one of the most difficult challenge to face for individuals, especially in an environment where communicating with others is inevitable. Communication, for me, can sometimes also brings in challenges despite my strengths.

One of the challenges is when I’m placed in an environment full of strangers. It is a struggle for me to build the courage to be the first one to speak up and introduce myself or just casually start-up a conversation. Another I discovered is that I can be too direct in my speech delivery in a certain situation or any rhetorical question thrown at me. There will be times where I had to take a step back and assess the emotions surrounding the situation or the person I am conversing with before having to deliver out my thoughts verbally. With close friends, it may not be an issue but with new friends or acquaintances, neutralising my words still produce quite a challenge.

For my strength in communication is that I can easily build up a conversation with someone. This is especially when the conversation is about a new interesting topic or a topic of my interest. Another strength of mine that I have come to realise is that I tend to be very expressive with my body language and hand gestures. For someone that is inarticulate especially in expressing inner feelings, I tend to show more non-verbal cue in my conversations that express my interest and attention to the conversation. This has helped my family and friends to be able to understand the message I’m trying to tell them with my inarticulation of my inner feelings. I remembered a time where it was during one of the game exercises my secondary school friends and I had to do for some youth programme some years ago. It was a game exercise where each pair had different scenarios to role-play for 8 minutes in front of everyone. To no surprise, mine was about a client counselling about her broken relationship. Boy, I was breaking in cold sweat and had clammy hands while I was in front of the class. Long story short, I was one of the few that had the lowest score and had a tête-à-tête with the youth leader. I may have come a long way since then but it is still a long process of improving.

Two objectives that I would like to learn in this current module is to have the confidence and ability to start a conversation with new people and in different environment settings and also being able to be more articulative in expressing myself when conversing.

3 thoughts on “Communication: Challenges & Strengths (Revised)

  1. I feel that you can communicate well and can maintain a conversation with people you just met better than you think. But you really need to work on the words you use as they come across as strong and may not be what you really meant. Maybe you can try to think of some mild words you can use to replace the words you normally use and start using these mild words when you are talking to others in future. I am sure that you will be able to start conversations with people you just met easily when you use more mild words as you will appear less aggressive and that will boost the confidence you need when meeting new people.

    Like

  2. I think that no matter what kind of situation you’re in, you seems to know just what to say and how to say it. However to overcome your weakness maybe you can take approach on ways to improve on communicating effectively through emotional intelligence.

    I agree with you that we all have different personalities, different wants and needs, and different ways of showing our emotions. Navigating through this all takes tact and cleverness especially if we hope to achieve mutual agreement in the communication. This is where emotional intelligence becomes important.

    Emotional intelligence is an awareness of your actions and feelings and how they affect those around you. It also means that you value others, listen to their wants and needs, and are able to empathize or identify with them on many different levels. Thus, it will help to boost your confidence level and allows you to manage relationships more effectively.

    Like

  3. Hello Siti Zulaiha, I agree with you that it is quite a challenge to communicate when you’re in a new environment. It’s good if you would take the initiative to begin communicating first. This will give others an impression that you have confidence and easy going towards others. It’s also good to know your weaknesses and how to overcome it. Regarding your last objective of being able to be more articulate in expressing yourself, I am sure that with the help of your team members and also in conjunction with the upcoming lectures, we’ll be able to improve ourselves in this area of concern.

    Like

Leave a Reply

